Cant access the settings through http://127.0.0.1:8109

Bug report and feature request
Post Reply
ggtours
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2006 8:57 pm

Cant access the settings through http://127.0.0.1:8109

Post by ggtours » Thu Jul 20, 2006 9:25 pm

Oh girls 'n boys I have a serious trouble with the last update from build 0 to MediaCoder 0.5.0 build 2298 - code build 725

With:
Internet Explorer French 6.0.2800.1106.xpsp2.030422-1633
Updates : SP1; Q867801; Q823353

Can't access any settings which are now XML based. Error with the page which is almost blank. Example of two reported errors within the main setting page:

URL: http://127.0.0.1:8109/pref/?path=&cat=1
Line: 3/1
Code: 0 - XMLHttpRequest is undefined
Line: 64/2
Code: 0 - xmlhttp has a NULL value or is not an object

I rebooted my machine, opened up this site as trusted, etc. Nothing does.
This almost prevents me from simply using MediasCoder! Help, please!!

Note: setup wizard works fine anyhow.

Thank you.

ggtours
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2006 8:57 pm

Post by ggtours » Fri Jul 21, 2006 5:11 pm

Actually I uninstalled everything and ran the full setup.
Bingo it works!
So it seems, the trouble had to do with the update process.

By the way, when using the update (what I will not do), you can really sweat in knowing whether your processor is SSE compliant or not: is there a pratical trick to test/know that particular point?

everling
Amateur
Amateur
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Jul 22, 2006 9:39 pm

Post by everling » Mon Jul 24, 2006 12:06 pm

From your report, I would guess that that you unchecked the XULRunner option during install and you don't have Firefox installed in your system.

MediaCoder uses the XULRunner for its configuration interface. If the XULRunner is unavailable, it will try to use Firefox's XUL interface. I guess that MediaCoder assumes that Firefox is installed and is the default web browser.

Your fix would be to install with the XULRunner or to install Firefox. Imho, I would rather install Firefox - it is a better web browser than IE6.



As a side note, IE6 doesn't have the XMLHTTPRequest object.

stanley
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4130
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 7:43 pm
Location: Sydney

Post by stanley » Mon Jul 24, 2006 12:58 pm

Oh, seems I need to improve the JavaScript to support IE. I've almost forgot the existence of IE. :lol:

Post Reply