[0.5.0-pre9] Unable to launch the program (connection error)

Bug report and feature request
Post Reply
Prodoc
Amateur
Amateur
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 4:45 am

[0.5.0-pre9] Unable to launch the program (connection error)

Post by Prodoc » Mon Jul 10, 2006 6:12 am

Just a heads-up:
The first time I launched 0.5.0-pre9 I was unable to launch the program. I got to see the welcome screen, I selected 'I Agree', but no matter which button I pressed I got the following alert: 'The connection was refused when attempting to contact 127.0.0.1:8109.'. I had to close the application completely and launch it again in order to continue.

I allowed the program to connect to the internet in my firewall settings when it launched for the first time. The firewall used is McAfee Personal Firewall Plus 7.1.113.

loekf
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jul 16, 2006 9:09 pm

Post by loekf » Sun Jul 16, 2006 9:12 pm

I found the same problem with 5.0 R1.

For some reason it went away if:

- Run the CLI version (audio coder, see program directory)
- Allow internet access in McAfee Firewall

Only then I got through the wizard and connection errors.

I had also had to remove the line in the program settings of McAfee, to force the firewall to request access again. Otherwise I got fatal error.

ant
Amateur
Amateur
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue May 16, 2006 10:28 pm
Location: An Ant Farm
Contact:

Post by ant » Mon Jul 17, 2006 4:44 am

loekf wrote:I found the same problem with 5.0 R1.

For some reason it went away if:

- Run the CLI version (audio coder, see program directory)
- Allow internet access in McAfee Firewall

Only then I got through the wizard and connection errors.

I had also had to remove the line in the program settings of McAfee, to force the firewall to request access again. Otherwise I got fatal error.
Me too with Kerio Personal Firewall v2.1.5! Even disabling its firewall failed to fix it.

I would like to know what happens if the user doesn't have Internet connection when using this program (e.g., dial-up)?

What was the last version that didn't have this problem? I need to downgrade since I can't use this!

Thank you in advance. :)
Ant @ The Ant Farm (http://antfarm.ma.cx) and Ant's Quality Foraged Links (http://aqfl.net).

ant
Amateur
Amateur
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue May 16, 2006 10:28 pm
Location: An Ant Farm
Contact:

Post by ant » Mon Jul 24, 2006 5:02 am

has this bug been fixed yet?
Ant @ The Ant Farm (http://antfarm.ma.cx) and Ant's Quality Foraged Links (http://aqfl.net).

everling
Amateur
Amateur
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Jul 22, 2006 9:39 pm

Post by everling » Mon Jul 24, 2006 11:51 am

My workaround is to uninstall MediaCoder, and then reinstall it without the XULRunner option (uncheck the XULRunner option). MediaCoder will use Firefox for its configuration.

I don't know what happens if you don't have Firefox. Perhaps MediaCoder might be able to use Thunderbird, Seamonkey or Netscape 8. Those programs use the same core as Firefox, the Gecko Runtime Engine (GRE), which provides the XUL interface.

stanley
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4130
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 7:43 pm
Location: Sydney

Post by stanley » Mon Jul 24, 2006 1:07 pm

In addition, it's recommended to upgrade from 0.5.0-pre to the latest release.

ant
Amateur
Amateur
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue May 16, 2006 10:28 pm
Location: An Ant Farm
Contact:

Post by ant » Mon Jul 24, 2006 4:07 pm

everling wrote:My workaround is to uninstall MediaCoder, and then reinstall it without the XULRunner option (uncheck the XULRunner option). MediaCoder will use Firefox for its configuration.

I don't know what happens if you don't have Firefox. Perhaps MediaCoder might be able to use Thunderbird, Seamonkey or Netscape 8. Those programs use the same core as Firefox, the Gecko Runtime Engine (GRE), which provides the XUL interface.
I only use Mozilla and IE6.0 SP2 in Windows XP Pro. SP2. Unchecking XUL during installation worked. I got a bunch of firewall alerts that I had to grant. The configuration wizard was a bit weird. It needs to be fixed Why rely on XUL and stuff? :P
Ant @ The Ant Farm (http://antfarm.ma.cx) and Ant's Quality Foraged Links (http://aqfl.net).

Post Reply