MediaCoder 0.6.0 development snapshot

Bug report and feature request
everling
Amateur
Amateur
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Jul 22, 2006 9:39 pm

Post by everling » Wed Feb 14, 2007 7:05 pm

On Win2k, build 3288 loads fine. Using .NET 1.1.

stanley, your mencoder from SVN, did it used the latest x264 build? I couldn't get the revision number used in its AVI output. Also, your x264.exe is rather dated - current revision is 622. The nightly mencoder build from http://ffdshow.faireal.net/mirror/mplayer/ uses r620. From the x264 changelog, r620 is good enough and r614 should be the minimum x264 revision now because of significant quality improvements in multi-threading.

I couldn't get MediaCoder to use x264.exe as a backend - it errors out. I could get MediaCoder to use Mencoder as the backend to produce H.264 vids.

Also, when the x264.exe encode errors out, I have to exit MediaCoder in order to try encoding again. Reseting the states of the playlist didn't reset the "Stop" to "Start".

stanley
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4131
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 7:43 pm
Location: Sydney

Post by stanley » Wed Feb 14, 2007 10:49 pm

everling wrote:stanley, your mencoder from SVN, did it used the latest x264 build? I couldn't get the revision number used in its AVI output.
Update all underlying stuff (e.g. mplayer, x264) to latest is a habit of mine. Unless the SVN trunk is broken, I'll always keep them up-to-date.
I couldn't get MediaCoder to use x264.exe as a backend - it errors out.
I've noticed this issue. It seems x264 denies to eat raw video data from stdin.
When things work together, things work.

User avatar
SirAuron
Expert
Expert
Posts: 798
Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2007 1:39 am
Location: Germany

Post by SirAuron » Fri Feb 16, 2007 1:15 am

i have a somewhat weird error, its again the merging was not succesful one with nothing output. but when i look there is some output, but its not playable.

this only happens sometimes when i want to transcode into h264/nero aac.
it does not happen with my beloved 300 .mov trailer, but it does with some xvid. however it works with other xvid. i have test it with some videos subbed by the same group (and the same series) and i cant determine any differences in the codecs used, but sometimes it works and sometimes it doesnt.

its build 3292

ps i have made a new thread in the misc-section of the forum. good news:)

EDIT: the problem persists after a reinstall
Last edited by SirAuron on Fri Feb 16, 2007 6:28 am, edited 3 times in total.

stanley
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4131
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 7:43 pm
Location: Sydney

Post by stanley » Fri Feb 16, 2007 2:22 am

Please tell me which build are you using?
When things work together, things work.

User avatar
SirAuron
Expert
Expert
Posts: 798
Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2007 1:39 am
Location: Germany

Post by SirAuron » Sat Feb 17, 2007 8:08 pm

unfortunately i was not able to find out why mediacoder (still build 3292) behaves this strangely.

- I have updated to pre2a and i cant encode h264/nero aac into mkv anymore.
the very moment i click the start button i get the message: ffmpeg.exe ceases to work. when i close it mediacoder freezes. (i am trying to transcode a xvid/mp3 video in two pass mode)

- when i dont use the auto select option for the backend i get several errors, too:

1. when using x264: the video encoder backend x264 does not have audio support. please choose an external multiplexer to perfom audio/video transocding with this video encoder (but i have selected mkv both as container and as muxer).

2. and well, ffmpg doesnt work, too, when set as backend

3. when using mencoder everything is fine till the muxing: failed to mux and not file output
Last edited by SirAuron on Sat Feb 17, 2007 8:50 pm, edited 3 times in total.

B!ink
Expert
Expert
Posts: 1275
Joined: Sun Nov 26, 2006 9:08 am

Post by B!ink » Sat Feb 17, 2007 8:18 pm


User avatar
SirAuron
Expert
Expert
Posts: 798
Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2007 1:39 am
Location: Germany

Post by SirAuron » Sat Feb 17, 2007 9:09 pm

yes, its that build.

concerning the muxer breakage with mencoder: its as described by me in one of my previous posts. with some files it works and with some it doesn't.

mikej163
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 1:21 pm
Location: Payette, Idaho
Contact:

Agreed.... It is supremely buggy

Post by mikej163 » Sat Feb 24, 2007 1:32 pm

:cry: I have to agree build 3338 is non functional.

I have one machine running Windows 2000 and one running Suse 10.2, I was always able to run the series 5 builds on both machines. I downloaded the 3338 build and the program started exhibiting instabilities on the first run. { Personally, I find the web popups to be more than annoying but I realize that is a personal preference. }

On the Windows machine, every menu overlaid some other menu. There were no accessible buttons to change any settings with. I could kind of guess with the mouse pointer but frankly I didn't trust anything, because I didn't know if I had something set right or not.

On my linux machine, i run version 0.9.28 of wine. The install appeared to work without a flaw. But as soon as I tried to run it I get an immediate runtime error, R6304 attempt to load msvcr80.dll incorrectly.

I'll check back in March I guess and see if you got thing working again.
Mike

stanley
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4131
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 7:43 pm
Location: Sydney

Post by stanley » Sat Feb 24, 2007 4:53 pm

The Windows problem looks like the 120dpi issue.
The Linux looks like caused by Visual Studio 2005's runtime library (msvcr80.dll) isn't well supported by WINE. Do u have any other software compiled with VS2005 successfully run on your Linux? Maybe you can try this.
When things work together, things work.

hvacengi
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 3:28 am
Location: US

Post by hvacengi » Sun Feb 25, 2007 6:20 am

Hi Stanley, thanks again for all the work you put into this software. After you helped out with my attempts to transcode into MPEG2 i haven't had a problem, until now.

I just started trying to use it to convert video's to WMV (trying for WMV3, but I can live with WMV2). For some reason, it loads wmenc just fine (by apearances) and starts transcoding the video. My problem is that it seems to randomly cut out before finishing the file, and on the occasions where it does finish the file the playback is incredibly chopy.

This issue is pressent in at least the last few 5.x versions, and persists into 6.0 pre releases. Below you can find the text from the comand line witndow, hopefully it will show you something helpful

Code: Select all

MediaCoder Version 0.6.0 build 3342 (built on Sat Feb 24 14:07:02 2007)
Based on MediaCoder core library build 1700

MediaCoder is a free software distributed under GPL license.
(C)2005-06 Stanley Huang <stanleyhuangyc@gmail.com>. All Rights Reserved.

Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) M processor 1600MHz (1573Mhz)
Processor Cores: 1

File not found: 'C:\Users\Brad\Videos\Share\Babylon5\Season 3\Babylon 5 - 3x06 -
 Dust To Dust.avi'
Failed to open C:\Users\Brad\Videos\Share\Babylon5\Season 3\Babylon 5 - 3x06 - D
ust To Dust.avi.

# ".\codecs\wmenc.exe" -i "C:\Users\Brad\Videos\Share\Babylon5\Season 3\Babylon
5 - 3x07 - Exogenesis.avi" -o "C:\Users\Brad\Videos\Share\Babylon5\Season 3\Baby
lon 5 - 3x07 - Exogenesis.wmv" -vb 2770 -acodec 1 -amode 3 -ab 128 -aq 98 -fps 2
9.970030 -width 576 -height 320 -srate 44100 -channels  -pipe 1216

Windows Media Encoder command line front-end, a portion of MediaCoder.
(C)2006 Written by Stanley Huang <stanleyhuangyc@yahoo.com.cn>.
Distributed under GPL license

Transcoding C:\Users\Brad\Videos\Share\Babylon5\Season 3\Babylon 5 - 3x07 - Exog
enesis.avi to C:\Users\Brad\Videos\Share\Babylon5\Season 3\Babylon 5 - 3x07 - Ex
ogenesis.wmv...
Completed.04976/2625458)
File C:\Users\Brad\Videos\Share\Babylon5\Season 3\Babylon 5 - 3x07 - Exogenesis.
wmv added into container as type 2.

# ".\codecs\wmenc.exe" -i "C:\Users\Brad\Videos\Share\Babylon5\Season 3\Babylon
5 - 3x07 - Exogenesis.avi" -o "C:\Users\Brad\Videos\Share\Babylon5\Season 3\Baby
lon 5 - 3x07 - Exogenesis.wmv" -vb 2770 -acodec 1 -amode 3 -ab 128 -aq 98 -fps 2
9.970030 -width 576 -height 320 -srate 44100 -channels  -pipe 664

Windows Media Encoder command line front-end, a portion of MediaCoder.
(C)2006 Written by Stanley Huang <stanleyhuangyc@yahoo.com.cn>.
Distributed under GPL license

Transcoding C:\Users\Brad\Videos\Share\Babylon5\Season 3\Babylon 5 - 3x07 - Exog
enesis.avi to C:\Users\Brad\Videos\Share\Babylon5\Season 3\Babylon 5 - 3x07 - Ex
ogenesis.wmv...
Completed.324456/2625458)
File C:\Users\Brad\Videos\Share\Babylon5\Season 3\Babylon 5 - 3x07 - Exogenesis.
wmv added into container as type 2.
The resulting files in each of the above cases are ~30MB, and not accessible (not playing in windows media).

The source file is Xvid video and mp3 audio, and changing the stream source has no affect.

My system is a laptop, Pentium M 1.6GHz, 1GB RAM, Windows Vista Ultimate, and I have installed ffdshow - tryouts.

If you would like, I can move this post to another thread, but thought that since this one is for your current update project I thought it might be appropriate.

Thanks in adavance!

Post Reply