Fatal Error

Discuss about generic usage of MediaCoder.

Moderator: HuggiL

guesser
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2006 7:07 am

Fatal Error

Post by guesser » Thu Jul 20, 2006 7:10 am

Hi, great app, but I cannot upgrade to 0.5.0 :-(
It installs ok, but as soon as I run the executable I get the message; Fatal Error, with an OK box.
I am running Windows ME, on a 1.7Ghz Pentium 4.
Please help :(

stanley
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4131
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 7:43 pm
Location: Sydney

Post by stanley » Thu Jul 20, 2006 12:06 pm

Which version/update are you installing?

guesser
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2006 7:07 am

Post by guesser » Fri Jul 21, 2006 1:04 am

I was using 0.3.9 build 1856 with no problem, but 0.5.0 build 2298 gives this error :-(

guesser
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2006 7:07 am

Post by guesser » Fri Jul 21, 2006 1:21 am

I just tried pre release 10 too, and that also gives the Fatal Error

stanley
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4131
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 7:43 pm
Location: Sydney

Post by stanley » Fri Jul 21, 2006 12:01 pm

Very strange. This issue has already been fixed. Have you tried 0.5.0-r1?

konic
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 9:25 pm

Post by konic » Fri Jul 21, 2006 9:37 pm

Well, I tried both ways:
1. Installed 0.5.0-r1 from scratch
2. Deleted 0.5.0-r1, installed 0.3.9 and then update 0.5.0-2306.
In both cases I was (kinda) lucky, -
application started (Task Manager) but did not load GUI (!?)
But no errors :lol: !
0.3.9 started (#2) with GUI no problem.
....
Windows XP, SP2, .NET2 (.NET1.1), 1.5Gb mem

guesser
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2006 7:07 am

Post by guesser » Fri Jul 21, 2006 10:58 pm

all 0.5.0 releases seem to give this error.

I have tried both the full, and audio versions. Also a couple of the prerelease versions. They all stop with the same fatal error message box

JPRuehmann
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jul 22, 2006 6:17 am

Post by JPRuehmann » Sat Jul 22, 2006 6:19 am

Hello.

I have the same Problem with both W98SE and W2K.

Till then.

stanley
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4131
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 7:43 pm
Location: Sydney

Post by stanley » Sat Jul 22, 2006 2:49 pm

I've added more error message in the latest update. Please report me the message when there is a startup failure.

guesser
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2006 7:07 am

Post by guesser » Sat Jul 22, 2006 11:10 pm

the new error is 'preference data cannot be loaded'

Post Reply