MediaCoder: "No Disk" Error Message

Share with other users your experience in using MediaCoder.
B!ink
Expert
Expert

MediaCoder: "No Disk" Error Message

Post by B!ink » Tue Dec 18, 2007 8:06 pm

Introduction: Ever encountered, "No Disk" error message in MediaCoder? If the answer is yes, read on.

Observation: This problem has been reported dozens of time by different users in the past and present.

Question and Answers:

Q: What triggers the "No Disk" error message?
A: Judging from what I've read (including my own personal experience), this problem occurs when an Audio CD is inserted into a CD-ROM/DVD-ROM/DVD-RW drive and is later removed.

Q: Does this error message occur with other medias like CDs or DVDs?
A: No (seems to happen with Audio CDs only).

Q: Which builds of MediaCoder are affected by this?
A: Past and current release.

Q: Is this a bug in MediaCoder?
A: Can't say for sure. I'm not a programmer.

Solution: This section is broken down into two categories: Temporary Solution and Permanent Solution.

Temporary Solution:
  • *Clicking the cancel button three times
    *Re-insert the Audio CD, wait a few seconds and click continue button
    *Disable and re-enable CD-ROM/DVD-ROM/DVD-RW hardware through Device Manager
    *Restarting the computer
Permanent Solution:
Before we begin, the following requirements must be meet.
  • Operating System (OS):
    Windows Vista
    Windows XP/2000
    Windows 98/Me (Needs to be confirmed)

Note: Must be logged in as an administrator in order to make system wide changes.

Internal (fixed) CD-ROM/DVD-ROM/DVD-RW drive
Steps:

1. Go to Start menu --> Run. If you're running Windows Vista, follow Windows Vista Secret #3: Bringing Back Start / Run.

2. Type "compmgmt.msc" (without the quotes) in the run box. Click "OK" button. This will bring up Computer Management window.