Turbo Mode for 1st pass with x264

If you need some features which are likely to be needed by most other users, or any good ideas, post them here.
Neko
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 8:24 pm

Turbo Mode for 1st pass with x264

Postby Neko » Fri Apr 08, 2016 8:47 pm

Hi!

I'm still using an old version of MediaCoder, because of its faster 1st pass when I encode with x264. 50% faster than latest versions.

I saw that in my version of MediaCoder, there are 2 options when turbo mode for 1st pass is enabled :
"reduce subq" and reduce "subq and frameref to 1"

(!empty($user->lang['IMAGE'])) ? $user->lang['IMAGE'] : ucwords(strtolower(str_replace('_', ' ', 'IMAGE')))

this feature has been retired from the latest MediaCoder versions and I missed it because I always used the 2nd option, and now it seems that when turbo mode is enabled, that means with the option "reduce subq" which is also slower.

I wonder if it's possible to get back this feature in next versions that would be great.

Thanks for reading!
stanley
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4079
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 7:43 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Turbo Mode for 1st pass with x264

Postby stanley » Sat Apr 23, 2016 9:58 am

This is for more precise bitrate control as quality is always more concerned for 2-pass encoding.
When things work together, things work.

Return to “Feature Request”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests