Turbo Mode for 1st pass with x264

Bug report and feature request
Neko
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 8:24 pm

Turbo Mode for 1st pass with x264

Postby Neko » Fri Apr 08, 2016 8:47 pm

Hi!

I'm still using an old version of MediaCoder, because of its faster 1st pass when I encode with x264. 50% faster than latest versions.

I saw that in my version of MediaCoder, there are 2 options when turbo mode for 1st pass is enabled :
"reduce subq" and reduce "subq and frameref to 1"

(!empty($user->lang['IMAGE'])) ? $user->lang['IMAGE'] : ucwords(strtolower(str_replace('_', ' ', 'IMAGE')))

this feature has been retired from the latest MediaCoder versions and I missed it because I always used the 2nd option, and now it seems that when turbo mode is enabled, that means with the option "reduce subq" which is also slower.

I wonder if it's possible to get back this feature in next versions that would be great.

Thanks for reading!
stanley
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4087
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 7:43 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Turbo Mode for 1st pass with x264

Postby stanley » Sat Apr 23, 2016 9:58 am

This is for more precise bitrate control as quality is always more concerned for 2-pass encoding.
When things work together, things work.

Return to “Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests