error 14 bug for GPU encoding.

Bug report and feature request
MarcinZ
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2015 1:04 am

error 14 bug for GPU encoding.

Postby MarcinZ » Mon Jun 06, 2016 6:48 pm

Hello!

I have NVIDIA GTX 980TI - very efficient graphics card.
I have noticed that from time to time, error 14 occurrs. Now the problem didn`t pass away and I cannot convert my 1 hour video input file.
The input file is:
- XAVC S 4K 100 Mbit/s bitrate 25fps 3840x2160 (size)
- mp4 input file
- nearly 60 minutes length - the file size is nearly 50 GB.

The output file is:
- HEVC 4K 50500 kbit/s bitrate 25fps 3840x2112 (size) (2112 px to avoid green bar at the bottom of the output video)
- mp3 audio encoding
- mkv output file
- I use NVENC GPU encoding and Mencoder as a source
- 2 pass encoding

I have the latest graphics card drivers installed. I have noticed that the problem ocurrs when I upgraded system from Windows 7 64 bit Professional to Windows 10 64 bits. There was no error 14 problem on Windows 7 Porfiessional.

Error 14 occurrs not at the beginning of converting, but after 40% progress.
I have tried to change encoding from 2-pass to constant, but it doesn`t help it.

Please fix the bug.
MarcinZ
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2015 1:04 am

Re: error 14 bug for GPU encoding.

Postby MarcinZ » Wed Jun 08, 2016 9:26 pm

I have just posted the problem also on NVIDIA community forum.

Here is the link: https://forums.geforce.com/default/topic/940421/geforce-drivers/nvenc-gpu-problem-in-gtx-980-ti-encoding-shows-nvenc-absence-error-/.

But I also ask you Stanley to check the problem from your side.

Regards
Marcin from Poland
MarcinZ
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2015 1:04 am

Re: error 14 bug for GPU encoding.

Postby MarcinZ » Thu Jun 09, 2016 2:08 am

I have just solved the problem. I suppose to fix it so. I have wrong setting in NVENC encoder settings. I have CUDA set and I change it to DirectX 11 and I didn`t get any error 14.

But I would like to ask developers: when are you going to add support for DirectX 12? My Windows 10 64 bit Pro has DirectX 12 installed. I think adding such support should increase speed of conversion.

Kindest regards
Marcin

Return to “Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 6 guests