Build 5588: Progressive is shown for Interlaced

Bug report and feature request
Post Reply
meRobs
Expert
Expert
Posts: 3116
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 2:45 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Build 5588: Progressive is shown for Interlaced

Post by meRobs » Sat Jan 11, 2014 1:02 pm

When using Add Track, the Properties pane shows 'Scan: Progressive' for an interlaced DVD.
I realise that this is the fault of MediaInfo which reads the VTS_xx_0.IFO and doesn't see the Scan type.

However, since it is often advisable to keep interlacing and leave the de-interlacing to a Player or TV and not to software, I prefer to retain interlacing in the output MP4 or MKV when encoding with MediaCoder.
I would set De-interlacing to 'Disabled'.

I would appreciate an assurance that MediaCoder will keep the fields (interlacing) from DVD video when de-interlacing is set at 'Disable' on the Picture tab even though MediaCoder thinks the source file is 'progressive'.

If there is any doubt please set 'Scan type' to TFF or Interlaced when accessing a DVD with Add Track, since most, if not all, DVDs are interlaced (set by the DVD Standard, I think).
Thanks.
Have you checked out the Tips & Guides for MediaCoder? Try: http://forum.mediacoderhq.com/viewtopic.php?f=17&t=8061
Also, get older builds at: http://www.videohelp.com/tools/MediaCoder/old-versions#download

stanley
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4123
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 7:43 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Build 5588: Progressive is shown for Interlaced

Post by stanley » Sun Jan 12, 2014 7:41 pm

I have no way to work this out yet as all information about a file comes from MediaInfo and MPlayer. If both of them reports a file is progressive, MediaCoder just treat the file as progressive.
When things work together, things work.

meRobs
Expert
Expert
Posts: 3116
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 2:45 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Build 5588: Progressive is shown for Interlaced

Post by meRobs » Sun Jan 12, 2014 8:01 pm

meRobs wrote:I would appreciate an assurance that MediaCoder will keep the fields (interlacing) from DVD video when de-interlacing is set at 'Disable' on the Picture tab even though MediaCoder thinks the source file is 'progressive'.
Stanley: could you please comment on this?

In other words, from your understanding of how MediaCoder works, if De-interlace = Disabled will that guarantee that an interlaced file would remain interlaced even though it is 'seen' as progressive?
Thanks
Have you checked out the Tips & Guides for MediaCoder? Try: http://forum.mediacoderhq.com/viewtopic.php?f=17&t=8061
Also, get older builds at: http://www.videohelp.com/tools/MediaCoder/old-versions#download

stanley
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4123
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 7:43 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Build 5588: Progressive is shown for Interlaced

Post by stanley » Mon Jan 13, 2014 12:37 pm

Maybe an option to force treating input as interlace can be added.
When things work together, things work.

meRobs
Expert
Expert
Posts: 3116
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 2:45 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Build 5588: Progressive is shown for Interlaced

Post by meRobs » Mon Jan 13, 2014 4:37 pm

Excellent
Than you
Have you checked out the Tips & Guides for MediaCoder? Try: http://forum.mediacoderhq.com/viewtopic.php?f=17&t=8061
Also, get older builds at: http://www.videohelp.com/tools/MediaCoder/old-versions#download

meRobs
Expert
Expert
Posts: 3116
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 2:45 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Build 5588: Progressive is shown for Interlaced

Post by meRobs » Sat Feb 01, 2014 8:55 am

Stanley: hope you haven't forgotten this issue. Which build will have this correction?
Thanks
Have you checked out the Tips & Guides for MediaCoder? Try: http://forum.mediacoderhq.com/viewtopic.php?f=17&t=8061
Also, get older builds at: http://www.videohelp.com/tools/MediaCoder/old-versions#download

rpm7777
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2018 5:46 am

Re: Build 5588: Progressive is shown for Interlaced

Post by rpm7777 » Tue May 28, 2019 2:11 pm

Hello, I am using version 0.8.57, build 5970. I also have an issue with interlaced AVI sources being mis-identified as progressive scan. This does not surprise me since this is basically a problem with the AVI format or possibly certain codecs. This is not really a problem with MediaCoder, as I have seen this issue in several other applications as well. "Mediainfo" does not even identify the interlace status, one way or the other. So, as the OP mentioned above, a "manual override" may be a decent solution that could be implemented fairly easily and quickly. Another encoding application that I use, has the ability to select the interlacing (Upper, Lower, Progressive) and the PAR and DAR aspect ratios of the source format, just in case they are mis-identified by the "automatic" means.

Please give this serious consideration if possible. In the mean time, would it be possible to create an AVIsynth script to incorporate either the AssumeBFF() or the AssumeTFF() functions to flag your encoding engine that the source file is indeed interlaced? While I am somewhat familiar with AVISynth, I am not aware of how it integrates with your encoding engine and thus what particular syntax I would use in this case OR if using those functions would make any difference in the pipeline. Could you suggest a temporary workaround so that I can actually use MediaCoder? I have a project where I need to take 1080i interlaced AVI files (v210, Lagarith, Huffyuv or GVG Lossless) and convert them to a specific mp4 format.

Thanks for any input you can provide.

Post Reply