AMD Exists.

Discussing about advanced video encoding techniques including GPU encoding, distributive encoding and segmental encoding. Topics are not limited to MediaCoder.
Rophe
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 6:02 pm

AMD Exists.

Postby Rophe » Fri Dec 23, 2016 8:45 am

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Advanced_Micro_Devices
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Radeon

More importantly: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Video_Coding_Engine

This encoder is in all AMD GPUs since 2011, hardware H.264 and H.265 (with polaris) video encoding.

The SDK to implement this encoding is free / open: https://github.com/GPUOpen-LibrariesAndSDKs/AMF

(As an example of how easy it is to implement, a hobbyist developer created a streaming plugin for OBS in one day).

....Hello? When will mediacoder support VCE?
stanley
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4080
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 7:43 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: AMD Exists.

Postby stanley » Fri Mar 24, 2017 1:38 pm

Will evaluate AMD APP SDK again.
When things work together, things work.
Rophe
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 6:02 pm

Re: AMD Exists.

Postby Rophe » Sat Sep 16, 2017 3:55 am

No no, do NOT use AMD-APP, it's long deprecated.

Use AMF: https://github.com/GPUOpen-LibrariesAndSDKs/AMF

Any GPU from the 7000 series (2011) onwards is compatible, and RX 400/500/Vega GPUs also do H265. AMF is incredibly easy to implement. It's all open source, and examples are included. As I said, a hobby developer was able to add AMD hardware video encoding to OpenBroadcaster in just one day using the framework.
Megatron
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 8:27 am
Location: England
Contact:

Re: AMD Exists.

Postby Megatron » Fri Sep 22, 2017 2:21 am

I thought my GPU was used in the past for encoding, just checked and my RX Vega 56 is at 0% while encoding. :|
Noob

Return to “GPU/Distributive/Segmental Encoding”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests