MediaCoder + NVENC SDK 5.0

Discussing about advanced video encoding techniques including GPU encoding, distributive encoding and segmental encoding. Topics are not limited to MediaCoder.
stanley
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4130
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 7:43 pm
Location: Sydney

MediaCoder + NVENC SDK 5.0

Post by stanley » Mon Feb 16, 2015 3:53 am

MediaCoder is finally able to encode with NVENC, NVIDIA’s hardware SIP core that performs H.264/AVC and H.265/HEVC video encoding. NVENC SDK 5.0.1 is used, so NVIDIA GPU driver 347.09 or above is required. The latest version of SDK has added support for HEVC (H.265) encoding on GM20x GPUs (GTX980 and future Quadro/Tesla/GRID platforms based on GM20x GPUs).

To test NVENC with MediaCoder, please install the latest MediaCoder Full Edition and install the following update.
Once the update installed, NVENC will appear in the video encoder list. Disable video encoder auto selection and choose NVENC and MediaCoder will encode with NVENC. The supported video format is H.264 and H.265 (if you have a GeForce series 9 card). Currently the configuration tab for NVENC is not yet done as the support for NVENC is just initial and is still being worked on. To adjust its parameters, click the “Encoder” button. More parameters will be adjustable in future updates.

Have fun and please report any problem encountered here.
When things work together, things work.

sharkbite
Amateur
Amateur
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2011 1:39 pm

Re: MediaCoder + NVENC SDK 5.0

Post by sharkbite » Wed Feb 18, 2015 8:35 am

IT WORKS!!!

converting aussie DVB-T to Apple mp4 i get around 12x speed and the quality is good.

all this with a lowly GTX650

Well done!

zub35
Amateur
Amateur
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2014 10:34 am

Re: MediaCoder + NVENC SDK 5.0

Post by zub35 » Wed Feb 18, 2015 1:29 pm

H264, bitrate 6000:

NVENC MediaCoder: http://goo.gl/p04sWc
SSIM: 28.03792632
NVENC ffmpeg mjb2000: http://goo.gl/fyWtCP
SSIM: 29.64479829
NVENC rigaya: http://goo.gl/yoCpn4
SSIM: 32.74470921

:|
google translate

stanley
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4130
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 7:43 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: MediaCoder + NVENC SDK 5.0

Post by stanley » Thu Feb 19, 2015 1:50 am

Disable "denoise" option on Picture tab to improve ssim.
When things work together, things work.

zub35
Amateur
Amateur
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2014 10:34 am

Re: MediaCoder + NVENC SDK 5.0

Post by zub35 » Thu Feb 19, 2015 2:33 am

denoise auto - SSIM: 27.06717304
denoise disabe - SSIM: 28.03792632

The difference in quality between the implementation of your and "rigaya" is visible to the eye.
SSIM values in a difference of almost 4.706 (!) points

You may have made a mistake somewhere?

Note the trees in a static picture and in motion. It can be seen that a problem in encoder.
https://yadi.sk/d/e3iXLtdrem2MK
google translate

stanley
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4130
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 7:43 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: MediaCoder + NVENC SDK 5.0

Post by stanley » Thu Feb 19, 2015 4:02 pm

The 3D denoiser makes the picture more clear, stable and efficient for compression. It's good for perception quality but makes SSIM lower (less identical to original).
When things work together, things work.

zub35
Amateur
Amateur
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2014 10:34 am

Re: MediaCoder + NVENC SDK 5.0

Post by zub35 » Fri Feb 20, 2015 12:38 am

You watched the video has attached a link?
can be used in mediacoder CUDA, and not NVENC.
Difference in quality, noticeably without SSIM.
SSIM values, I gave as an example of how great the difference.

nothing to do with denoiser is not here.
I suggest to replace your NVENC from rigaya
google translate

xstmx
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 9:35 pm

Re: MediaCoder + NVENC SDK 5.0

Post by xstmx » Fri Feb 20, 2015 9:40 pm

Does anyone get NVENC with H.265 working?
I tried to use several parameters but always get error14.

Using GTX970 with lastest Driver (347.52)
Using MediaCoder x64; 0834.5695 with NVENC update pack

jonaand
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: MediaCoder + NVENC SDK 5.0

Post by jonaand » Sun Feb 22, 2015 1:31 pm

i have i5 4430, gtx 970, 347.52 driver nvidia, windows 8.1 64bit, and when i try star to convert using format h.265 and encoder nvenc give me error 014

what am i doing wrong? thanks

mole007
Amateur
Amateur
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 1:37 pm

Re: MediaCoder + NVENC SDK 5.0

Post by mole007 » Tue Feb 24, 2015 1:45 pm

I have an laptop and performance is lower that expectec.
0.5fps. :mrgreen:
encoder engine: NVENC
GPU info:
GTX 860M 4GB
640 shaders
1020MHZ
paired with:
i7 4710HQ
16GB DDR3 1600mhz.

idon't know how to upload image to load an screen shot.
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B5tqiK ... sp=sharing

i post this because think that's is a isue.

If i select cuda option, performance is the same.


Sorry for my english (only speak spanish :lol: )
Lenovo y50-70 i7 4710hq + gtx 860m 4GB GDDR5 + 16GB DDR3l 1600

Post Reply