Page 1 of 1

Intel Quick Sync Not Working

Posted: Sun Jul 28, 2013 12:51 pm
by stevieg21
I posted this message in the "Basic Discussions" forum and haven't gotten a response. I'm hoping someone can help me here.
******************************************

I just updated to MediaCoder version 8.24.5540x64 from version 8.23.5530x64 using the full version download. I get a message saying "No Supported Acceleration Hardware Detected" when I click on the GPU box under the video tab. I made sure the Intel Accelerated Encoder box was checked during the installation. The previous version was not having this issue.

My computer is a laptop with an Intel Core i7-2720QM CPU (SandyBridge). I'm using Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit and have 8 gigs of ram installed.

Anyone else having this problem?
:cry:

Re: Intel Quick Sync Not Working

Posted: Mon Sep 16, 2013 4:21 pm
by stevieg21
Well, it took me awhile, but I got it working again. First, I switched back to an older version of the software (MediaCoder-x64-0.8.23.5530). That recognized that my CPU supported Intel Quick Sync. But, I really wanted to use the newest version with the updated Intel encoder. I decided to try updating my video driver. My laptop maker's (HP) website listed my current driver as the latest one. I went to Intel's website and found a generic driver which was much newer, 2013 versus 2011. I updated to this driver and then installed the latest version of MediaCoder. It now recognized my CPU, but when I tried using Intel Quick Sync it ran much slower. It was basically encoding in real time (1x speed) so there was no benefit to using Intel QS. Before, I was getting an average of 15x with DVD videos. So a 30 minute video would take about two minutes to encode.

As a last ditch effort, I tried doing a fresh install of the new video driver instead of as an update. I had to uninstall the driver first and then did a clean install. I then installed the current version of MediaCoder (MediaCoder-x64-0.8.26.5560) and it worked again with conversion speed at around 15x. I'm using the quality setting, which is the slowest one.

I don't know if this will help anyone, but it felt good to vent a little here. I'm curious if anyone with a desktop version of the Intel chip is getting the same speeds or faster.