Support for AMD GPU Encoding

Discussing about advanced video encoding techniques including GPU encoding, distributive encoding and segmental encoding. Topics are not limited to MediaCoder.
Post Reply
pmredulla
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 3:01 am

Support for AMD GPU Encoding

Post by pmredulla » Sun Feb 24, 2013 3:06 am

It looks like AMD GPU users are left out of the party. It's a waste of GPU power for AMD users since our GPUs are not supported; we're stuck with CPU encoding at the moment. Will support for AMD GPUs come? Or never?

User avatar
HuggiL
Modest
Modest
Posts: 233
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2011 3:44 am
Location: Perth, Australia

Re: Support for AMD GPU Encoding

Post by HuggiL » Fri Apr 12, 2013 10:23 pm

AMD support is not as widespread as NVIDIA's CUDA support right now. If you really want to, you can always download the AMD Media Codec Package which includes AMD's own Video Converter software. I don't know how well it works however as I use a GTX650.
In theory, theory and practice are the same. In practice, they are not.

Tips & Guides: http://forum.mediacoderhq.com/viewtopic.php?f=17&t=8061
Older versions: http://www.videohelp.com/tools/MediaCoder/old-versions#download

stanley
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4130
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 7:43 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Support for AMD GPU Encoding

Post by stanley » Mon May 13, 2013 3:28 am

Using x264's opencl accelertion on AMD GPU is a better choice.
When things work together, things work.

2121
Amateur
Amateur
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon May 19, 2008 10:11 am

Post by 2121 » Fri Nov 15, 2013 4:55 am

Yea

OpenCL Enable

Image

Post Reply