Little question about video options

Discuss about generic usage of MediaCoder.

Moderator: HuggiL

Post Reply
nodiaque
Amateur
Amateur
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2013 10:24 pm

Little question about video options

Post by nodiaque » Sat Jan 04, 2014 7:14 am

Hello,

I'm currently creating my own preset file for converting BD to MKV. I have a many working preset depending on source (anime, film, etc.) but there is something I don't get when checking the video options command line.

I'm using h.264 format, x264 encoder, 2-pass mode with video bitrate of 5000kbps. Source is set to auto. (weirdly, my movie end-up with 8000-12000 kbps).

x264 is using profile high10 4.1, Custom Preset, film Tune, GOP 25~250, 5 ref frame, subme 7, ME UMH 32 with 10 b-frame optimal.

I see all of that in the command line, with the other advanced option I selected. But there is one setting I don't see: --bframes 10. Changing b-frames number change nothing on the command line

Even weirder, I see 2 time --ref 5.
x264_10bpp --no-progress --profile high10 --tune film --weightp 2 --b-pyramid strict --scenecut 40 --rc-lookahead 50 --b-adapt 2 --level 41 --keyint 250 --min-keyint 25 --non-deterministic --ref 5 --aq-mode 1 --aq-strength 1.0 --subme 7 --ref 5 --me umh --merange 32 --psy-rd 1:0 --bitrate $(VideoBitrate) --qcomp 0.6 --sar 1:1 --threads 11 --stats "$(PassLogFile)" --pass 1 -o NUL -

x264_10bpp --no-progress --profile high10 --tune film --weightp 2 --b-pyramid strict --scenecut 40 --rc-lookahead 50 --b-adapt 2 --level 41 --keyint 250 --min-keyint 25 --non-deterministic --ref 5 --aq-mode 1 --aq-strength 1.0 --subme 7 --ref 5 --me umh --merange 32 --psy-rd 1:0 --bitrate $(VideoBitrate) --qcomp 0.6 --sar 1:1 --threads 11 --stats "$(PassLogFile)" --pass 2 -o "$(DestFile)" -
Using Mediacoder x64 0.8.28.5582 Full Edition

meRobs
Expert
Expert
Posts: 3116
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 2:45 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Little question about video options

Post by meRobs » Sat Jan 04, 2014 10:23 am

You don't always get the chosen/set bitrate, it depends on what the encoder considers the max for that scene.
Suggest you read some of the Guides listed under Tips & Guides (link below), especially the ones on H.264 and multi-pass.
Also, I have never tried a large setting for B-frames, which sets the max number, not the actual number used.
Have you checked out the Tips & Guides for MediaCoder? Try: http://forum.mediacoderhq.com/viewtopic.php?f=17&t=8061
Also, get older builds at: http://www.videohelp.com/tools/MediaCoder/old-versions#download

nodiaque
Amateur
Amateur
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2013 10:24 pm

Re: Little question about video options

Post by nodiaque » Sat Jan 04, 2014 1:56 pm

Yeah, I've read about the bitrate and b-frame settings. I set it to 10 for film and 16 for animations. I get a better compression ratio at same quality for a little more time. Thing is, why is bframe settings not in the command line? I feel like the settings isn't getting used. I know it's the max consecutive bframe, which is why it's better for animation to have higher possible number (better compression then p frame).

I've copied the command into handbrake advanced with the added bframe 10 and I get a compression time of 2h30 instead of 6h, for a 2h movie. I find the number very odd for handbrake. I'm still waiting for it to finish to check for file size and quality. If it's the same as mediacoder eith same settings, I gotta find what handbrake does to speedup things like that.

edit: nevermind on the encoding time, the time reporting was bad because of the first pass. It now have over 4h to go

nodiaque
Amateur
Amateur
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2013 10:24 pm

Re: Little question about video options

Post by nodiaque » Sun Jan 05, 2014 2:04 am

Just checled the console window and the bframe value isn't passed to the compiler. I see, in x264 info: bframe=5, while it is set as 10 in program.

stanley
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4135
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 7:43 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Little question about video options

Post by stanley » Sun Jan 05, 2014 9:24 pm

Number of bframes can't be bigger than reference frames.
When things work together, things work.

lerbon123
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2014 5:20 pm
Contact:

Re: Little question about video options

Post by lerbon123 » Mon Mar 31, 2014 5:30 pm

I feel like the settings isn't getting used. I know it's the max consecutive bframe.
Last edited by HuggiL on Mon Mar 31, 2014 9:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Remove advertisement URL

terry123
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu May 29, 2014 4:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Little question about video options

Post by terry123 » Thu May 29, 2014 4:21 pm

Suggest you read some of the Guides listed under Tips & Guides.
Last edited by HuggiL on Thu May 29, 2014 11:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: remove advertising links

camila
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2014 2:46 pm

Re: Little question about video options

Post by camila » Sat Sep 06, 2014 2:50 pm

If you can setup CUDA decoding on your system, you can accelerate a bit by off-loading decoding to GPU by using AviSynth as decoder in MediaCoder.
Last edited by HuggiL on Wed Sep 24, 2014 11:13 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Removed ads/unrelated URLs

stanley
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4135
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 7:43 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Little question about video options

Post by stanley » Sat Sep 06, 2014 9:04 pm

Camila is correct!
When things work together, things work.

Post Reply