Encoded files play with no audio, unless using .m3u playlist

Discuss about generic usage of MediaCoder.

Moderator: HuggiL

Post Reply
neveax
Amateur
Amateur
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2006 4:11 pm

Encoded files play with no audio, unless using .m3u playlist

Post by neveax » Fri Jul 28, 2006 8:17 am

I tried using VLC/media player classic and zplayer, all players only play the video with no sound.

Audio codec was FAAC > average bitrate 48 > MPEG4 > Low complexity.

Code: Select all

".\codecs\faac.exe" -w -P -X -b 48 -R $(SampleRate) -B $(SampleBits) -C $(ChannelNum) --mpeg-vers 4 --obj-type Main --no-midside -o "$(DestFile)" "$(SourceFile)"
Video is H.264 > 2-pass > target size 80,000KB(80MB).

Code: Select all

".\codecs\faac.exe" -w -P -X -b 48 -R $(SampleRate) -B $(SampleBits) -C $(ChannelNum) --mpeg-vers 4 --obj-type Main --no-midside -o "$(DestFile)" "$(SourceFile)"
Container is avi, it's suppose to be mkv but I guess I clicked the wrong one. These files won't play in any players unless I use the .m3u file. Using the .m3u file, I play the videos just fine, with sound. What is wrong with it? Why can it only play with the .m3u playlist?

Copy of m3u file.

Code: Select all

#EXTM3U
#EXTINF:2692616,MB[1x02].avi
#EXTINF_INFO:227481600,4
#EXTINF_TIME:0,0,0,0,0
#EXTINF_CROP:0,0,384,216
C:\MB[1x02].avi
#EXTINF:2698548,MB[1x03].avi
#EXTINF_INFO:366247936,4
#EXTINF_TIME:0,0,0,0,0
#EXTINF_CROP:0,0,512,384
C:\MB[1x03].avi
#EXTINF:2695180,MB[1x04].avi
#EXTINF_INFO:367568896,4
#EXTINF_TIME:0,0,0,0,0
#EXTINF_CROP:0,0,512,384
C:\MB[1x04].avi 
#EXTINF:2690432,MB[1x05].avi 
#EXTINF_INFO:366254080,4
#EXTINF_TIME:0,0,0,0,0
#EXTINF_CROP:0,0,512,384
C:\MB[1x05].avi 
#EXTINF:2627560,MB[1x06].avi 
#EXTINF_INFO:366247936,4
#EXTINF_TIME:0,0,0,0,0
#EXTINF_CROP:0,0,512,384
C:\MB[1x06].avi
#EXTINF:2696364,MB[1x07].avi 
#EXTINF_INFO:366254080,4
#EXTINF_TIME:0,0,0,0,0
#EXTINF_CROP:0,0,512,384
C:\MB[1x07].avi 
Any idea what's wrong?

Thanks.

There is also a bug in MediaCoder>FACC, when I choose Low Complexity in settings, it changes to Long Term Prediction on the main interface in MediaCoder, when I choose SSR in settings, it changes to Main on the main window. I should probably put this in the bug forum board.

stanley
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4135
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 7:43 pm
Location: Sydney

Post by stanley » Fri Jul 28, 2006 1:34 pm

It's a bug in the GUI. I'll fix it. Currently please refer to the option in Settings dialog and ignore the option in the FAAC audio tab.
But I don't have an idea about your problem. It should work. When you play original files in mediacoder, does it have sound?

neveax
Amateur
Amateur
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2006 4:11 pm

Post by neveax » Fri Jul 28, 2006 1:46 pm

Yes, there is sound when playing the original files in mediacoder. For some reason, the encoded files can only play with the m3u playlist, otherwise, there's no sound.

stanley
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4135
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 7:43 pm
Location: Sydney

Post by stanley » Fri Jul 28, 2006 2:01 pm

That is strange. Have you tried with other media players?

neveax
Amateur
Amateur
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2006 4:11 pm

Post by neveax » Fri Jul 28, 2006 3:10 pm

yes, I tried VLC, media player classic and zplayer, all the latest versions, only plays the video, no sound. Is there anything special in a m3u file that can cause this?

I ran it through virtualdub, this is what I get. It looks like I'm missing the AAC codec, but it doesn't explain why I can play it with the m3u playlist anyway. Maybe virtualdub just doesn't support AAC files, I'm not sure.

Image

stanley
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4135
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 7:43 pm
Location: Sydney

Post by stanley » Fri Jul 28, 2006 4:54 pm

Try switching to Nero as audio encoder, you may want to force LC-AAC in Nero tab.

neveax
Amateur
Amateur
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2006 4:11 pm

Post by neveax » Sat Jul 29, 2006 3:24 pm

After a bit of testing, it looks like avi files won't play at all. MKV files only have video, no audio, MP4 files work fine. But the audio still goes out of sync, even with nero. It could be caused by the increase in sampling rate. From 20500Hz to 25000Hz. I set resample to original but it still increases the sampling rate. I'll try a different AAC codec now.

stanley
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4135
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 7:43 pm
Location: Sydney

Post by stanley » Sat Jul 29, 2006 6:41 pm

If the sync issue is persistant, you may revert MEncoder to 1.0pre8. There is download link on the download page.

neveax
Amateur
Amateur
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2006 4:11 pm

Post by neveax » Tue Aug 01, 2006 9:55 am

It works great now. MP4box crashes after the encoding is complete, so I just got a newer version and it works great now.

Thanks. :D

Post Reply