Page 1 of 1

I can't configure Media Coder

Posted: Tue Nov 18, 2014 11:00 am
by Borneq
I have WIndows 8.1, install windows.8.codec.pack.v2.0.2.setup.exe
but when I try convert my file, are errors: 014,008 and sometime others

Re: I can't configure Media Coder

Posted: Tue Nov 18, 2014 2:32 pm
by HuggiL
You don't need to install codec packs to use MediaCoder. It already has all the necessary files to read and convert files built into it.
Also, those errors are usually due to incompatible settings and such. Details on the error codes and what they relate to can be found here: http://blog.mediacoderhq.com/docs/error-codes/. I can't help unless you provide more details either, like what version of MediaCoder, what settings you're using, and the media info on the source file.

Conversion to RAW - error 015

Posted: Tue Nov 18, 2014 6:29 pm
by Borneq
I have MediaCoder x64 0.8.32 build 5680.
I choose Raw Video, Null Encoder; Audio: PCM, Null Encoder; Container: Raw Stream.
Start fast encoding but is error 015.

Code: Select all

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<MediaCoderPrefs><node key="overall.task.destdir">c:\temp\</node><node key="overall.subtitle.mode">Stream Copy</node><node key="overall.audio.channels">Original</node><node key="overall.audio.autoEncoder">false</node><node key="overall.audio.format">PCM</node><node key="overall.audio.encoder">Null Encoder</node><node key="overall.video.mode">CBR</node><node key="overall.video.bitrate">5000</node><node key="overall.video.format">Raw Video</node><node key="overall.video.autoEncoder">false</node><node key="overall.video.encoder">Null Encoder</node><node key="overall.container.format">Raw Stream</node><node key="overall.preview.mode">Off</node><node key="audioenc.nero.quality">100</node><node key="videoenc.x264.profile">High10</node><node key="videoenc.x264.level">41</node><node key="videoenc.x264.preset">Custom</node><node key="videoenc.x264.tune">Animation</node><node key="videoenc.x264.frameref">10</node><node key="videoenc.x264.bframes">10</node><node key="videoenc.x264.b_adapt">Optimal</node><node key="videoenc.x264.rc_lookahead">50</node><node key="videoenc.x264.p8x8dct">true</node><node key="videoenc.x264.me">Uneven Multi-Hexagon</node><node key="videoenc.x264.me_range">32</node><node key="videoenc.x264.subq">9</node><node key="videoenc.x264.psy_rd">0.400000</node><node key="videoenc.x264.mixed_refs">true</node><node key="videoenc.x264.aq_strength">Weak</node></MediaCoderPrefs>

Re: I can't configure Media Coder

Posted: Wed Nov 19, 2014 12:19 am
by HuggiL
For one, I believe a Raw Stream container isn't actually a "container" so you cannot have both audio and video enabled. You might have to do two runs, a video run with audio disabled then an audio run with video disabled.
Second, I can't get "Null Encoder" to work properly with the "Raw Video" format, it always produces an error 15. Using "Frame Dumper" instead got rid of that.
Third, PCM audio usually uses the Waveform encoder. If your source file already has a PCM track and you just want to dump it, use the "Copy Audio" option instead along with my suggestion from the first paragraph and it'll dump an exact copy of the audio into a standalone audio file.

Re: I can't configure Media Coder

Posted: Wed Nov 19, 2014 4:49 am
by Borneq
Thanks, video has 2 minutes 11.2s. (but in properties is not frame number) Arises two files: big 2 GB .yuv and 25 MB .wav. This file has 1.5 bytes per pixel (size: 720x576). It means, it is interlaced?
1. I can't see properties .yuv file with MediaCoder (only I can see properteis of .wav) and I can't compress again this files.
2. It is possible intermediate compression to set of static jpeg without motion compression?

Re: I can't configure Media Coder

Posted: Thu Nov 20, 2014 1:28 am
by HuggiL
You should be able to see whether it's interlaced or not by checking the properties of the source file? Much better than trying to guess by using the file size.
Also, what is it you're trying to do exactly? There's no real point in creating raw files if you're just going to reconvert them into another format. And it's not wise to do intermediate conversions because you lose quality every time you convert.