Apple TV 3 Preset?

Discuss about generic usage of MediaCoder.

Moderator: HuggiL

Post Reply
willwinuk
Amateur
Amateur
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 10:00 am
Location: UK

Apple TV 3 Preset?

Post by willwinuk » Tue Sep 09, 2014 8:39 am

Hi,
For the 3rd gen Apple TV would I just select the Apple TV (720p) preset and change the resolution to 1920x1080 when needed or does MediaCoder still really need a dedicated preset for the 3rd Apple TV?

User avatar
HuggiL
Modest
Modest
Posts: 233
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2011 3:44 am
Location: Perth, Australia

Re: Apple TV 3 Preset?

Post by HuggiL » Tue Sep 09, 2014 10:49 pm

Looking at the technical specifications for the Apple TV 3rd gen, it requires this:
  • H.264 video up to 1080p, 30 frames per second, High or Main Profile level 4.0 or lower, Baseline profile level 3.0 or lower with AAC-LC audio up to 160 Kbps per channel, 48kHz, stereo audio in .m4v, .mp4, and .mov file formats
  • MPEG-4 video up to 2.5 Mbps, 640 by 480 pixels, 30 frames per second, Simple Profile with AAC-LC audio up to 160 Kbps, 48kHz, stereo audio in .m4v, .mp4, and .mov file formats
  • Motion JPEG (M-JPEG) up to 35 Mbps, 1280 by 720 pixels, 30 frames per second, audio in ulaw, PCM stereo audio in .avi file format
I'm not sure what settings the 720p preset uses but you can use it as a base, just check the settings it loads against the specifications provided by Apple. Or, it might be better to just create a new preset:

Code: Select all

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<MediaCoderPrefs><node key="overall.subtitle.mode">Disabled</node><node key="overall.audio.bitDepth">Original</node><node key="overall.video.mode">2-Pass</node><node key="overall.video.bitrate">8000</node><node key="overall.video.ar">Keep PAR</node><node key="audioenc.nero.mode">CBR</node><node key="audioenc.nero.bitrate">160</node><node key="videoenc.x264.profile">High</node><node key="videoenc.x264.level">40</node><node key="videofilter.scale.enabled">true</node><node key="videofilter.scale.width">1920</node><node key="videofilter.scale.height">1080</node><node key="videofilter.frame.enabled">true</node><node key="videofilter.frame.fps">30</node></MediaCoderPrefs>
Just copy all that into Notepad and save as an .xml file. Then load it as a preset into MediaCoder. It's set for H.264 1080p/30fps @ High 4.0 using 2-pass encoding with 8Mbps bitrate (you'll want to change the bitrate and maybe rate mode depending on your preferences) and LC-AAC 160kbps stereo audio.
In theory, theory and practice are the same. In practice, they are not.

Tips & Guides: http://forum.mediacoderhq.com/viewtopic.php?f=17&t=8061
Older versions: http://www.videohelp.com/tools/MediaCoder/old-versions#download

willwinuk
Amateur
Amateur
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 10:00 am
Location: UK

Re: Apple TV 3 Preset?

Post by willwinuk » Wed Sep 10, 2014 7:55 am

Thanks :)

watson45
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2014 5:28 pm

Re: Apple TV 3 Preset?

Post by watson45 » Wed Oct 01, 2014 5:30 pm

For the 3rd gen Apple TV would I just select the Apple TV (720p) preset and change the resolution to 1920x1080 when needed or does MediaCoder still really need a dedicated preset for the 3rd Apple TV?
watson

User avatar
HuggiL
Modest
Modest
Posts: 233
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2011 3:44 am
Location: Perth, Australia

Re: Apple TV 3 Preset?

Post by HuggiL » Thu Oct 02, 2014 1:44 am

watson45 wrote:For the 3rd gen Apple TV would I just select the Apple TV (720p) preset and change the resolution to 1920x1080 when needed or does MediaCoder still really need a dedicated preset for the 3rd Apple TV?
I suppose you could but you also need to change the bitrate as well at minimum. Maybe some of the more advanced stuff like profiles and levels as well.
In theory, theory and practice are the same. In practice, they are not.

Tips & Guides: http://forum.mediacoderhq.com/viewtopic.php?f=17&t=8061
Older versions: http://www.videohelp.com/tools/MediaCoder/old-versions#download

Post Reply