MediaCoder "a trimmed down version" comment

Discuss about generic usage of MediaCoder.

Moderator: HuggiL

Post Reply
mixer
Expert
Expert
Posts: 3004
Joined: Tue Jul 11, 2006 4:20 pm
Location: Portland, Oregon USA

MediaCoder "a trimmed down version" comment

Post by mixer » Fri Apr 04, 2014 4:07 pm

Since I couldn't respond to a locked post, I started another topic. If the mods decide to delete this, it's fine with me.

merobs said:
I now find that most, if not all, of my uses of MediaCoder are confined to conversions to MP4 and MKV and some to audio only. In other words, to formats that support chapters, to formats that suit iOS devices (iPhone etc), editing in Adobe Premiere (viewtopic.php?f=17&t=11959) and those suitable for YouTube (viewtopic.php?f=17&t=12508).

For me the simple solution was to use another program, that being "handbrake" which will (without error), and with simplicity, convert from almost anything to mp4 or mkv. Simple and sleek.

Two others that are somewhat unknown and hard to find are Kirara and ShanaEncoder

mixer
Last edited by mixer on Sat Apr 05, 2014 2:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

meRobs
Expert
Expert
Posts: 3116
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 2:45 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: MediaCoder "a trimmed down version" comment

Post by meRobs » Fri Apr 04, 2014 5:40 pm

I had tried Handbrake for a week or two but found in far less satisfying than MediaCoder. And frustrating!

Handbrake was time consuming when working on a batch, each source file had to be loaded and “Add to Queue” clicked and, even then it often failed to convert all in the queue.

It's settings were ambiguous and not reproducible. For example, when aiming for an interlaced outut, I had set Anamorphic = Strict, as recommended for interlacing, and saved it in a Preset. However, on loading the Preset, Anamorphic appeared at its default value (‘Loose’).

Most important for me, since I require the max resolution for workimg in Premiere, Handbrake often failed to give the desired Resolution, which cannot even be set or changed easily. Handbrake has a mind of its own and usually chooses what it wants for the resolution -- usually lower than desired. It also seems incapable of convertig an NTSC file to PAL so that I can treat a number of clips on the same Timeline in Premiere.

For example, wanting to keep 720x576 for all clips, I converted 3 NTSC files in 720x480 to PAL:
The output framerate was correct at 25 fps but the two clips in 4:3 were output at 706x480 for one and 720x488 for the other, and a 16:9 source clip in 16:9 came out as 706x476. They all had a reduced resolution (quality) for a Timeline at 720x576.

I finally gave up using Handbrake. It may be useful for straightforward conversions but for me, NO!
In any case, MediaCoder lets you have control over everything you want and offers numerous other encoding options in case you need them.

That is why I re-examined MediaCoder and prepared the abovementioned Guide on Trimmed Versions (viewtopic.php?f=17&t=13044).
Have you checked out the Tips & Guides for MediaCoder? Try: http://forum.mediacoderhq.com/viewtopic.php?f=17&t=8061
Also, get older builds at: http://www.videohelp.com/tools/MediaCoder/old-versions#download

mixer
Expert
Expert
Posts: 3004
Joined: Tue Jul 11, 2006 4:20 pm
Location: Portland, Oregon USA

Re: MediaCoder "a trimmed down version" comment

Post by mixer » Sat Apr 05, 2014 7:27 am

I agree on your point of use.

For me (and I should clarify for other readers), handbrake is somewhat finicky depending on the version. But, when converting single files, I've never had a crash. True also, documentation is very limited (you're on your own). Help from the forums is way over moderated and abrasive in general (which BTW, is handbrakes worst enemy).

meRobs and other readers may want to experiment with Kirara v1.25 encoder or ShanaEncoder v1.16...........both are available with some searching. I've used Kirara and found it to be quite useful with lots of options. Kirara is no longer being updated. Shana replaced Kirara. Both appear to do batch jobs, but I can't confirm the reliability.

meRobs
Expert
Expert
Posts: 3116
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 2:45 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: MediaCoder "a trimmed down version" comment

Post by meRobs » Sat Apr 05, 2014 11:40 am

Thanks for your suggestions and comments (Long time no 'see').

I found ShanaEncoder easily and downloaded the latest version 2.1.
The first thing I noticed was that, if the footprint matters, it consumes twice as much space as the two trimmed-down versions of MediaCoder I suggested in viewtopic.php?f=17&t=13044.

Whereas, ShanaEncoder does offer numerous output formats, can add a Logo and subtitles, it allows only one user Preset and limited control over the settings. This, of course, is OK if one of the built-in Presets for particular devices is adequate.

On the other hand, MediaCoder - even the two trimmed-down versions I like - has far more options and control over the output and allows many user-defined Presets.

Still, it was good to discover other alternatives to MediaCoder (for interest sake).

Hope life after MediaCoder suits you mixer!
Have you checked out the Tips & Guides for MediaCoder? Try: http://forum.mediacoderhq.com/viewtopic.php?f=17&t=8061
Also, get older builds at: http://www.videohelp.com/tools/MediaCoder/old-versions#download

mixer
Expert
Expert
Posts: 3004
Joined: Tue Jul 11, 2006 4:20 pm
Location: Portland, Oregon USA

Re: MediaCoder "a trimmed down version" comment

Post by mixer » Sat Apr 05, 2014 2:47 pm

And thank you meRobs for the testing.

OT a bit. My biggest complaint with MC was the loss or broken conversion to AVI using the Huffyuv codec. That's what I really needed.


Good to see you are still around. See if you can get Kirara too. I think you will find it interesting. Try this link: http://www.digital-digest.com/software/ ... story.html (double check you're clicking the right download link)

mixer

meRobs
Expert
Expert
Posts: 3116
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 2:45 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: MediaCoder "a trimmed down version" comment

Post by meRobs » Fri Apr 18, 2014 11:30 am

I have done some more testing of both the ShanaEncoder and the Kirara.
The results have been compared with Trimmed down versions of MediaCoder at viewtopic.php?f=17&t=13044.
Have you checked out the Tips & Guides for MediaCoder? Try: http://forum.mediacoderhq.com/viewtopic.php?f=17&t=8061
Also, get older builds at: http://www.videohelp.com/tools/MediaCoder/old-versions#download

mixer
Expert
Expert
Posts: 3004
Joined: Tue Jul 11, 2006 4:20 pm
Location: Portland, Oregon USA

Re: MediaCoder "a trimmed down version" comment

Post by mixer » Fri Apr 18, 2014 3:18 pm

Very nice discussion and post on the encoder comparisons. Most of the limitations aren't an issue for my use, but the Handbrake ones are for sure. Quite irritating in fact.

I hope your report interests the developer of MediaCoder since it shows the potential and benefits a streamlined and (all features) working program would offer users.

Those two criteria would indeed make MediaCoder a leader, rather than a "old rusty swiss army knife encoding program"

mixer

lahercoll
Amateur
Amateur
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2013 8:47 pm

Re: MediaCoder "a trimmed down version" comment

Post by lahercoll » Sat Apr 19, 2014 5:12 pm

An EXCELLENT H264 encoder is meGUI, probably SIMPLY THE BEST

meRobs
Expert
Expert
Posts: 3116
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 2:45 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: MediaCoder "a trimmed down version" comment

Post by meRobs » Mon Apr 21, 2014 2:50 pm

I had a quick look at meGUI 2418, which is able to convert many source formats to MP4 or MKV.
Even though it seems to offer more control over the output than does Handbrake or Kiara it is far more comlex to use and far less user-friendly. It seems to need the use of scripts and the installation of its components and its operation is not self evident.

I would far rather use MediaCoder, which offers more options with more features, and yet its installation includes all that is needed in one hit and the GUI (interface) is more self evident. It is a much tidier and powerfal program than meGUI.

Please do NOT discuss meGUI any further or suggest more alternatives.
This is a Forum on MeddiaCoder.
Thanks
Have you checked out the Tips & Guides for MediaCoder? Try: http://forum.mediacoderhq.com/viewtopic.php?f=17&t=8061
Also, get older builds at: http://www.videohelp.com/tools/MediaCoder/old-versions#download

Post Reply