Getting Mux error 15 no matter what

Discuss about generic usage of MediaCoder.

Moderator: HuggiL

perl
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed May 09, 2012 2:11 am

Getting Mux error 15 no matter what

Postby perl » Thu May 10, 2012 4:48 am

Mediacoder was working fine, and then suddenly I started getting the error "Audio stream and video stream cannot be muxed together" on all of my transcodes. I'm using the same saved presets I've always used and I've even tried reverting the settings and creating a new setup with Config Wizard. I tried reinstalling the software and updating to the latest version. I can't even transcode old files that I was already able to transcode successfully. Mediacoder just stopped working. What can I do to fix it?

OS: Windows 2000
Mediacoder 0.8.12 Build 5240
Original is an MP4 downloaded from Youtube via Easy YouTube Video Downloader 5.9 Firefox add-on.
Target is XviD AVI for playback on a Panasonc DVD recorder.
meRobs
Expert
Expert
Posts: 3116
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 2:45 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Getting Mux error 15 no matter what

Postby meRobs » Thu May 10, 2012 9:42 am

It probably depends on the muxer setting on the Container tab.
Try the suggested setttings for Xvid in AVI as given in the Encoding Guide, listed under Tips & Guides (link below).
Have you checked out the Tips & Guides for MediaCoder? Try: http://forum.mediacoderhq.com/viewtopic.php?f=17&t=8061
Also, get older builds at: http://www.videohelp.com/tools/MediaCoder/old-versions#download
perl
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed May 09, 2012 2:11 am

Re: Getting Mux error 15 no matter what

Postby perl » Tue May 15, 2012 5:32 am

The transcoding tips just say to use the Auto setting, which I am. I've tried every muxer and they all give the same error, or else not supported. I've even tried disabling the audio and I still get the error, which makes no sense to me.
meRobs
Expert
Expert
Posts: 3116
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 2:45 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Getting Mux error 15 no matter what

Postby meRobs » Tue May 15, 2012 10:12 am

All the suggested combinations in the Encoding Guide that I mentioned on the previous post, work in build 5230.
This may be seen in the Test Report, also under Tips & Guides. I haven't tried 5240 yet.

It is not only the muxer settting that counts. It is all the others as well.This is why I suggested you actually try the settings for Xvid/AVI in that Guide.
Also, the use of XvidCore as video encoder often fails on larger files. It is probably better to use FFmpeg!

It would have been more helpful if you had given all the settings you used (video, audio and conatiner tabs).
Have you checked out the Tips & Guides for MediaCoder? Try: http://forum.mediacoderhq.com/viewtopic.php?f=17&t=8061
Also, get older builds at: http://www.videohelp.com/tools/MediaCoder/old-versions#download
perl
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed May 09, 2012 2:11 am

Re: Getting Mux error 15 no matter what

Postby perl » Wed May 16, 2012 1:50 am

meRobs
Expert
Expert
Posts: 3116
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 2:45 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Getting Mux error 15 no matter what

Postby meRobs » Wed May 16, 2012 10:07 am

I get your point. But I would like to make a few points.
(1) using Presets in a new build may not work. This is explained in the Guide: viewtopic.php?f=17&t=8521&start=0
(2) I assumed you wanted some help and the only way we can do that is to look at your settings and maybe try them ourselves.

As it happens, because you seem reluctant to follow my advice and actually try the settings for Xvid/AVI in the Encoding Guide, I tried it for you.
I upgraded to 5240 and tried converting a YouTube MP4 to Xvid/AVI.
It worked. I used the settings in the Encoding Guide.

I also made mention above, to the use of Xvidcore for encoding Xvid. It works on small files but not on large.
Over many builds since 5140, this encoder has failed (for me) to convert properly and I have put in a number of Bug Reports.
The use of FFmpeg as encoder has always worked in getting Xvid.

Again, I suggest you try the settings exactly as given in the Encoding Guide.

Also, if you don't wish to do that, then please give us your settings.
It will help others to know what not to use or maybe we can try them to.
Have you checked out the Tips & Guides for MediaCoder? Try: http://forum.mediacoderhq.com/viewtopic.php?f=17&t=8061
Also, get older builds at: http://www.videohelp.com/tools/MediaCoder/old-versions#download
diablosfiji
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2012 5:15 pm

Re: Getting Mux error 15 no matter what

Postby diablosfiji » Fri Oct 05, 2012 8:00 pm

I came up with a simple solution to the issue, I had the problem, I tried everything to fix it didn't work, tried the help guides on this site, they were a no go as well, then the only thing I did was change the destination folder, and everything was okay again :)

Return to “Generic Discussions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests