fps 50 output impossible with Mediacoder GUI

Discuss about generic usage of MediaCoder.

Moderator: HuggiL

Post Reply
pheno
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2011 11:55 pm

fps 50 output impossible with Mediacoder GUI

Post by pheno » Fri Mar 25, 2011 4:42 am

I'm trying to transcode 1920x1080:50i video to xvid format with fps50 for smooth playback. It seems that mediacoder can't do this via the GUI.

I can do it from commandline with:

Code: Select all

mencoder.exe f:\mplayer\00030.mts -demuxer lavf -sws 10 -fps 100 -ofps 50 -vf yadif=1,mcdeint,softskip,harddup,scale=722:406 -oac mp3lame -o 00030.avi -ovc xvid -xvidencopts bitrate=4000:threads=0
and the output of that is here: http://phenoboy.kapsi.fi/00030-xvid-fps50.avi

mencoder version:
C:\Program Files\MediaCoder\codecs>mencoder.exe
MEncoder Sherpya-MT-SVN-r32848-4.5.0 (C) 2000-2011 MPlayer Team
No file given

original file is here: http://phenoboy.kapsi.fi/00030.MTS
Last edited by pheno on Sat Mar 26, 2011 7:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

stanley
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4109
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 7:43 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: fps 50 output impossible with Mediacoder GUI

Post by stanley » Fri Mar 25, 2011 7:32 pm

Try manually enter 50 in frame rate option.
When things work together, things work.

pheno
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2011 11:55 pm

Re: fps 50 output impossible with Mediacoder GUI

Post by pheno » Sat Mar 26, 2011 3:10 am

Nope it did not seem to help. Always 25fps

pheno
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2011 11:55 pm

Re: fps 50 output impossible with Mediacoder GUI

Post by pheno » Sat Mar 26, 2011 7:28 am

I don't want to be immature but if developers of Mediacoder GUI think it's an awesome tool then please tell me how can I achieve what I want. Source file is present. Sort of a challenge for developers, right ?

mixer
Expert
Expert
Posts: 3004
Joined: Tue Jul 11, 2006 4:20 pm
Location: Portland, Oregon USA

Re: fps 50 output impossible with Mediacoder GUI

Post by mixer » Sat Mar 26, 2011 9:16 am

Your original file is AVC MP4 based and probably shot with a HD camcorder. The original framerate is 25 fps interlaced which equals 50 fps.
If you playback an interlaced video on computer monitors then it will look bad (sorry if you know this already). In that case, you need simply deinterlace the material since computer monitors are progressive.

Is this for playback on a progressive monitor ?

I doubt that increasing the framerate to 50 fps progressive gives you much more quality. Maybe.

Otherwise, if you are playing back on a television set for interlace (non-progressive scan), then you leave the interlacing alone.

FYI:

Poor playback (judder) on a computer, portable device or media streamer is not always caused by interlacing or framerate. It is generally caused by high bitrate levels and high resolution (picture size) both which are inherent in AVCHD camera's. In this case the playback device hardware (CPU, Video Card, Hard Drive, and Memory) simply can't handle this type of high quality material fast enough for smooth playback. HD AVC files also require robust computer hardware and fast Ethernet lines if streaming. Poor playback is also caused by the software player. For instance, some versions of Microsoft Media Player "choke" on video files that VLC player has no problem with.

meRobs
Expert
Expert
Posts: 3116
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 2:45 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: fps 50 output impossible with Mediacoder GUI

Post by meRobs » Sat Mar 26, 2011 11:17 am

Just a minor comment: interlaced 25 fps (frames per sec) displays each frame in two fields, each having only half the lines (video data).
Hence, it is not strictly 50 fps, although, it is 50 fields per sec!

Also, MediaCoder will usually convert interlaced video (25 fps = 50 fields per sec) into progressive at 25 fps, especially if Effects (tab at right of Picture) is set to Enable De-Interlace.
Have you checked out the Tips & Guides for MediaCoder? Try: http://forum.mediacoderhq.com/viewtopic.php?f=17&t=8061
Also, get older builds at: http://www.videohelp.com/tools/MediaCoder/old-versions#download

pheno
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2011 11:55 pm

Re: fps 50 output impossible with Mediacoder GUI

Post by pheno » Sat Mar 26, 2011 8:23 pm

I have Phenom II X4 965 and GTX 260 so no problem there.

Monitor is standard LCD so yes it is progressive.

Playback of the original file is very smooth in VLC with deinterlace enabled (for example with "linear" setting). Because it is 50fps. Also windows media player automatically turns on deinterlacing. Well, my eyes can easily see difference between 50fps and 25fps. And the original interlaced is much smoother (IMHO) than 25fps progressive.

I tried to transcode original file with Mediacoder and for some reason length of the video doubled and it plays slower that it should. This could be a problem in mencoder itself.

If I could resize original 1920x1080 to for example 720x400 interlaced I would be happy. It seems that this is also impossible at the moment.

mixer
Expert
Expert
Posts: 3004
Joined: Tue Jul 11, 2006 4:20 pm
Location: Portland, Oregon USA

Re: fps 50 output impossible with Mediacoder GUI

Post by mixer » Sun Mar 27, 2011 6:11 am

I'm not sure what you use for playback software, but I would recommend VLC (free) it's a darn good player. Then, I would not use the AVI/xvid format, you'll get much better results using MP4/h264 (which is one of newer compression standards).

Post Reply