Unsual results when encoding with the Nero encoder

Discussion about AudioCoder
Post Reply
leoliver
Amateur
Amateur
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 5:05 pm

Unsual results when encoding with the Nero encoder

Post by leoliver » Tue Aug 19, 2008 1:43 am

Hi Everyone,

Yesterday I took a mp3 264 KBPS audio file, from a CD I purchased and backed up to my hard drive , and used MediaCoder's Nero Encoder to encode it to HE-AAC . Here's the MediaCoder readout for the encoded file :

"General #0
Complete name : C:\Documents and Settings\Lawrence Oliver\My Documents\MediaCoder\Audio\Ryan Adams - Easy Tiger (m4a)\01 - Ryan Adams - Goodnight Rose.m4a
Format : 3GPP
Format/Info : 3GPP Media Release 6 Basic Profile
Format/Family : MPEG-4
File size : 1.57 MiB
PlayTime : 3mn 20s
Bit rate : 65.6 Kbps
StreamSize/String : 19.2 KiB
Album : Easy Tiger
Track name : Goodnight Rose
Track name/Position : 1
Track name/ : 0
Performer : Ryan Adams
Genre : Unknown
Encoded date : 2007
Tagged date : UTC 2008-08-18 01:27:58
Encoded_application : Nero AAC codec / Aug 6 2007

Audio #0
Codec : AAC LC-SBR
Codec/Family : AAC
Codec/Info : AAC Low Complexity with Spectral Band Replication
PlayTime : 3mn 20s
Bit rate mode : VBR
Bit rate : 66.15 Kbps
Maximum bit rate : 108 Kbps
Channel(s) : 2 channels
Channel positions : L R
Sampling rate : 44.1 KHz
Resolution : 16 bits
StreamSize/String : 1.55 MiB
Encoded date : UTC 2008-08-18 01:27:32
Tagged date : UTC 2008-08-18 01:27:58

Chapters #0
1 : 00:00:00.105 - Goodnight Rose "

After MediaCoder finished , it gave a "error 61" warning . I don't know what that error means . I did have a playable .m4a file , although it didn't sound as well as I had hoped .
I read a post on the forum that said MediaCoder's Nero Encoder will produce AC3 files , which are playable down to 64 kbps. And I set the target bitrate to 64 . But I don't know why I had a error 61 .
And I was curious why the container and the audio file had different kbps rates, so I looked at the original mp3 that I encoded , and it showed a difference in the "file Properties " window ( container: 224 kbps bitrate, and for audio:128 kbps{vbr} ), but in the "file details" window it showed both the container and audio bitrate at 284 kbps{?}. Here's MediaCoder's readout for the original file:

" General #0
Complete name : C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Documents\project tunes & videos\Ryan Adams - Easy Tiger [2007]\01 - Ryan Adams - Goodnight Rose.mp3
Format : MPA1L3
File size : 6.77 MiB
PlayTime : 3mn 20s
Bit rate : 284 Kbps
Album : Easy Tiger
Part/Position : 1/1 / 1
Part/ : 1
Track name : Goodnight Rose
Track name/Position : 1
Performer : Ryan Adams
Publisher : Lost Highway
Genre : Alternative Country
Recorded date : 2007
Writing library : Winamp 5.33
Comment : arterialzed

Audio #0
Codec : MPEG-1 Audio layer 3
Codec profile : Joint stereo
PlayTime : 3mn 20s
Bit rate mode : VBR
Bit rate : 284 Kbps
Minimum bit rate : 224 Kbps
Channel(s) : 2 channels
Sampling rate : 44.1 KHz
Resolution : 16 bits
Writing library : LAME3.97
Encoding settings : VBR (rh) "

Could those differences in the container and audio kbps's cause a problem? And why do I see a different bitrate , for the audio file in the "file properties window" and the "file detail window " ?
And just out of curiosity , I used the audio encoder from Nero 7 burning rom to encode the original mp3 to 128 AC3 . Here's the MediaCoder readout for that file :

" General #0
Complete name : C:\Documents and Settings\Lawrence Oliver\My Documents\My Music\01 - Ryan Adams - Goodnight Rose.ac3
Format : AC3
Format/Info : Audio Coding 3
File size : 3.05 MiB
PlayTime : 3mn 20s
Bit rate : 128 Kbps

Audio #0
Codec : AC3
Bit rate mode : CBR
Bit rate : 128 Kbps
Channel(s) : 2 channels
Channel positions : L R
Sampling rate : 48.0 KHz "

It seems that with the Burning Rom encoder , both the format and the audio kbps are the same at 128 kbps .

However , I would prefer to learn how to use the MediaCoder encoder , rather Nero 7's encoder because MediaCoder does a much better job at transferring audio file tag info to the encoded file. Which means less work for me , filling in tag info , such as album , artist after the encoding job is completed .

Feedback on this post will be appreciated .
Your Friend,
Larry

leoliver
Amateur
Amateur
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 5:05 pm

Post by leoliver » Thu Aug 21, 2008 1:33 am

I may have partially solved the problem . It seems when I load this particular folder , each file is loaded twice . But the duplicates are only empty container files. I never had this happen before , so I don't know what could be causing this .
I'll delete the container duplicates from the "ready" window , and try trans coding again.
Your Friend,
Larry

leoliver
Amateur
Amateur
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 5:05 pm

Re: Unsual results when encoding with the Nero encoder

Post by leoliver » Sun May 31, 2009 1:48 am

richelex wrote:How do i burn a slideshow to DVD using Nero 7? I am trying to burn a slideshow to a DVD using the software Nero 7. Does anyone know the steps to do this? Also, which is the best Blank DVD to buy for this?

Use Nero Vision Express to create and burn a slide show to DVD .
Your Friend,
Larry

B!ink
Expert
Expert
Posts: 1275
Joined: Sun Nov 26, 2006 9:08 am

Post by B!ink » Mon Jun 01, 2009 9:42 pm

Edit: removed richelex account due to spamming.

To leoliver:

richelex's intention was to spam the forum using his/her signature to mislead people to a marketing website. No harm done answering their silly question.

Administrator
B!ink

stanley
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4130
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 7:43 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Unsual results when encoding with the Nero encoder

Post by stanley » Wed Jun 03, 2009 3:48 am

When doing audio transcoding, you'd better to set the container format option to "Default". This will keep the original container format that the audio encoder uses.

To B!ink: long time no see on the forum, how is going? ;-)
When things work together, things work.

leoliver
Amateur
Amateur
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 5:05 pm

Re: Unsual results when encoding with the Nero encoder

Post by leoliver » Wed Jun 03, 2009 12:31 pm

stanley wrote:When doing audio transcoding, you'd better to set the container format option to "Default". This will keep the original container format that the audio encoder uses.

To B!ink: long time no see on the forum, how is going? ;-)
Thanks for the tip .
Your Friend,
Larry

Post Reply