X264 profile - trying to use Fabio Sonatti's settings

Share with other users your experience in using MediaCoder.
User avatar
SirAuron
Expert
Expert
Posts: 798
Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2007 1:39 am
Location: Germany

Postby SirAuron » Sun Apr 20, 2008 3:42 am

I recommend using build 4045 which is rather stable. Using any nero aac profile worked for me.
MediaCoder settings:

x264 (backend/source: mencoder, fps: 23,976, Fabio Sonatti's settings) + nero aac 64 in matroska
Entity
Amateur
Amateur
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2008 9:22 am

Postby Entity » Sat May 10, 2008 6:01 pm

Were you converting from WMV? I can't get anything to go from WMV -> MP4 using HE-AACV2 (HE-AAC seems to work fine). I get "The testing phase has failed" (F6 shows a simple "could not open file" message with the name of the MP4 it is apparently trying to create).

Image
Cruz
Amateur
Amateur
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2008 11:46 am

Postby Cruz » Mon May 12, 2008 12:34 pm

Im not positive since it was a while ago i attempted it but im sre i only got it to work with LAME mp3 or w/e that one is.
Mon1018
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 3:19 pm
Contact:

Postby Mon1018 » Wed May 14, 2008 1:20 am

Using any nero aac profile worked for me.
Intolerant of EVIL
Amateur
Amateur
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 12:53 pm
Location: here

Postby Intolerant of EVIL » Tue May 20, 2008 7:26 am

Thanks for help with the video settings. My only difference is

Maximum interval betwee IDR frames: 125
Full pixel motion estimation: Slow / 16
source mplayer -- because it respects my clipping effects brightness/saturation settings in v4106

And for audio FAAC instead of nero
... to be continued
africanmarty
Amateur
Amateur
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat May 24, 2008 8:41 pm
Location: australia

Postby africanmarty » Sat May 24, 2008 9:05 pm

wow this is nice, though i have one problem the media player i use can only accept h.264 level '4.0' with a 'high' profile.

when i do all these suggested settings it makes it level '5.1' what is making it do this, what seting must i change to keep all ( or most of the settings ) but keep the H.264 level at '4.0' ???

- regards Marty.
gotta love H.264 !!
B!ink
Expert
Expert
Posts: 1275
Joined: Sun Nov 26, 2006 9:08 am

Postby B!ink » Sat May 24, 2008 10:10 pm

Under x264 Tab, you will see level option. Select 4.0 in the drop down box.
africanmarty
Amateur
Amateur
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat May 24, 2008 8:41 pm
Location: australia

Postby africanmarty » Sat May 24, 2008 10:46 pm

B!ink wrote:Under x264 Tab, you will see level option. Select 4.0 in the drop down box.
:oops: thanks.

- Marty.
gotta love H.264 !!
beyondinvisible
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2008 12:52 pm

Postby beyondinvisible » Sun Jun 15, 2008 12:55 pm

Thanks for the guide B!ink. I tried it out and it worked great. My only questin is can these settings be used for other containers? I tried to create an avi with the same specs but couldn't do it. Any idea what I did wrong?
B!ink
Expert
Expert
Posts: 1275
Joined: Sun Nov 26, 2006 9:08 am

Postby B!ink » Sun Jun 15, 2008 3:22 pm

beyondinvisible wrote:Thanks for the guide B!ink. I tried it out and it worked great. My only questin is can these settings be used for other containers? I tried to create an avi with the same specs but couldn't do it. Any idea what I did wrong?
Don't bother using H.264 in AVI container. You're setting yourself up for trouble. Anyway, this setup doesn't work using AVI due to certain limitation with the container. Your best bet is to use MKV (Matroska) container if you don't want to use MP4.

If you use MKV container, make sure container is set to MKV under Video Tab. Then use MKVMerge multiplexer under Muxer Tab.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest